MannyMUA x Makeup Geek Palette Review!

Hey everyone!! Welcome back! Today I’m here to do a review on the MannyMUA x Makeup Geek Palette. I just recently got this palette after hearing Manny say in his August Favorites video that these might be gone soon since they are limited edition. Honestly I was just waiting for an excuse to buy this and I found it!

This palette retails for $45.00 on MakeupGeek.com and comes with 9 shades. 3 shades are Manny’s favorite MakeupGeek shadows and 6 brand new shades that Manny collaborated on making and include matte, shimmery and foiled shadows.

I’ll go through all the shadows and tell you how I feel about everything, and I’ll tell you about the look I’ve been doing with it most often since I got it (just a couple days ago!)

First things first, I LOVE the packaging of this. It’s so gorgeous and fits in with Manny’s moon theme and I really love his little picture on the back of the box too. The front of the actual palette is also beautiful, and the back has Manny MUA written across the top and the names of the shadows. When I opened the palette for the first time I was really amazed  at how beautiful the shadows are, but the one thing I was disappointed in was the one of the shades in mine came broken and made the palette a little bit of a mess. Not a huge deal I just didn’t love opening it to something broken already.


Here’s a picture of all the shadows in the pans: 

The first row of shadows is Artemis, Beaches & Cream, and Luna. Artemis is described as a “muted champagne yellow with a shimmery finish” and I think this shade is beautiful as a brow bone highlight or an inner corner highlight. Beaches & Cream is a “soft peachy beige with a matte finish” and I love this as my first transition shade in my crease. Luna is “a medium rose gold with a foiled finish.” Oh man am I obsessed with Luna. Throw some setting spray on your brush, dip into this and go on the lid and just wow yourself.

The next row is Cosmopolitan, Sora, and Frappe. Cosmopolitan is a “gold-flecked” medium rose with a shimmery finish. This shade is so unbelievably beautiful but I haven’t really played with this yet. I imagine this would look gorgeous on the lid as well. Sora is “a medium earth terracotta with a demo-matte finish (with subtle specs of glitter on the surface” and this shade is also so gorgeous. Sometimes I combine this with Beaches & Cream and put this as a transition as well. Next up is Frappe which is a “medium maple brown with a demi-matte finish” and this is also beautiful. I will also put this in my crease and focus this more on the outer crease for some extra definition.

The final row is Insomnia, Mars, and Aphrodite. Insomnia is a “warm red brown with blue reflects and a foiled finish.” This is so beautiful and the blue reflects are just crazy amazing. I don’t even know how to explain this to you if you’ve never seen it in real life. Pop this on the lid and it would be gorgeous. Mars is a “deep cherry red with a matte finish” and this is also beautiful for the crease as a transition color. I really love this color but the consistency of this shadow is different from the rest of them. It feels rougher and just kind of weird, but the color payoff is still great so it’s okay. And finally, Aphrodite.  Aphrodite is the one that came broken in my palette when I got it. It’s described as “a deep plum brown with a matte finish.” What I’ve been doing this is taking a very tiny amount since its incredibly pigmented and putting it on the outer portion of my lid and a little bit into my crease and I love it.

Here you can see swatches of all the colors with flash and without flash:


The look I’ve been doing with this palette since I got it a couple days ago is combining Beaches & Cream with Sora and throwing that in my crease as a transition. Then I take Frappe in the outer part of my crease for some increased definition. Then I’ll take Aphrodite on a tiny little pencil push and putting this on the outer corner of my lid and blend blend blend for no harsh lines. Then I’ll take Luna on a wettened brush and put that all over my lid. I put on some liner and mascara and call it a day. I love this look so much. If you guys have this palette I would definitely try this look out.

All in all, I love this palette. The shadows are overall really great, and I love being able to support one of my favorite YouTubers through awesome collaborations. Let me know in the comments down below if you have this collab or any others you have! I want to hear all about them.

Thank you guys so much for reading, and I’ll talk to you soon!

Xoxo,
Rachel

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

