My Best of Beauty 2016!

Hi everyone! Welcome back! Today I’m here to bring you guys a round up of all my favorite beauty products from 2016. This year I really got interested in the beauty community and tried out a LOT of different products so I thought it’d be fun to talk about the ones I loved the most! I’ll split them up into categories too so it’s easier to follow.

Face

Primer: For primer I decided to go with one I just recently got as a present which is the Estee Lauder Matte Perfecting Primer. My mom picked this up for me for no real reason but I’ve been using it pretty much nonstop and I love love love it. Even though it’s pretty pricey for a primer ($36.00), I definitely really like it. A little bit of product goes a long way on my face so I think the 1 oz. bottle will hopefully stick with me for a while. I would probably repurchase this if it was on sale or something but das espensive (comment below if you know what that’s a reference to!)

Foundation: This was the YEAR of me trying foundations honestly. I tried probably about 15 different foundations this year and there are a couple I think deserve to be mentioned. The first one is my current obsession and that is the Makeup Forever Ultra HD Foundation in shade Y225. I really love the coverage this gives without needing too much product and I think it just makes my skin look really flawless. Over the summer I also really fell in the love with both the L’Oreal Pro Glow and Pro Matte foundations. Both of these do amazing things for my skin and although I haven’t been wearing them too much recently I’m gonna bring them back out soon.

Concealer: Ok ok I’m sure that most people have the same favorite concealer ending this year since it’s all the rage online – yes, I am talking about the Tarte Shape Tape. As I’m sure you’ve heard before, this is the most full coverage concealer in the world. I had stopped into Ulta one night just for fun and I thought this was out of stock but it turns out it wasn’t so I just picked it up to try it out. I was initially a little scared of how full coverage it was but I ended up loving it hard core. Nothing beats this for me but I would like to see something else try so if you have any suggestions, let me know.

Powder: I really stuck to mainly one powder this year and that is the Covergirl Loose Translucent Powder. I’ve mentioned this a bunch on here because I just absolutely love it. I actually use this to set my whole face with a damp sponge and I just love the way it turns out. Granted, I haven’t tried any other powders really this year so if you have recommendations let me know in the comments.

Bronzer: Honestly before just a couple months ago I never really thought bronzer was important. Then I came across the Too Faced Milk Chocolate Soleil Bronzer and it changed my life. I actually discovered this in the NikkieTutorials x Too Faced collaboration palette and then ordered a full sized one and it was the best decision I made. I would highly recommend this because I think it’s great – and it smells like chocolate!

Blush: At first this year I was all about the blush Amaretto from the Becca x Jaclyn Hill collaboration face palette, but recently I got the Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in the shade “Celebrated” which is like the perfect pinky nude for me. I don’t see it on their website so I wonder if it was limited edition or something. But the formula of all of these blushes is really good so I would recommend any of them.

Highlight: The only highlight I really used all year was Champagne Pop from Becca x Jaclyn Hill. I finally recently hit pan on it actually and I’m pretty sad. Champagne Pop is definitely a cult favorite and I totally understand why. It’s a beautiful color and the formula is great too. I’m in the market for new highlighters so if you have any recommendations please let me know!

Brows: I have two things for brows and they are both from Anastasia Beverly Hills (shocking, I know.) The first is the Brow Definer in soft brown. I really love this brow pencil and I think it’s the perfect shape and it’s a great product. The one bad thing I have to say about this is that I find that it breaks really easily. I’ve gone through a couple of them and most of them just end up breaking if I push even slightly too hard, so that kinda sucks. The next thing is the Clear Brow Gel also from ABH. I really love this stuff. At first I had no clue what the whole deal was with brow gel, but after getting my hands on this I realized how important it is to lock your brows in, and this REALLY does the job.

Eyes

Eyeshadow Palettes/ Shades: Okay so this was the year of foundations as I mentioned above, and definitely also the year of eyeshadow palettes. I feel like about a million palettes were released and there were a lot that I got my hands on and loved. One that I am totally in love with is the MannyMua x Makeup Geek palette. I was so happy to get this after going back and forth over if it was worth it, and the answer was definitely yes. The shades in here are all great and can produce a whole bunch of different looks. I also loved the Too Faced Sweet Peach palette and used it almost exclusively during the summer. Another one I really love but haven’t played too much around with yet is the Morphe x KathleenLights palette, which unfortunately is sold out so I can’t link it, but it’s supposed to be coming back into stock soon.

Eyeliner: I tried my fair share of eyeliners this year, and the one that I found that I love the most is the Morphe Gel Liner. I bought this on a whim when I was ordering something else from Morphe and I fell in love. It glides on really nicely and easily and doesn’t tug at my eye at all, and is the easiest liner I’ve ever used to create a wing with.

Mascara: I tried a lot of mascaras this year also, and I have two that I think deserve an honorable mention. The first one is the Makeup Forever Excessive Lash and the second one is the Too Faced Better than Sex. I really love both of these equally. I got mini sizes of both to try out and then ended up purchasing the full sizes. They both just do amazing things to my lashes.

Other

Sponges: This year I finally caved and got a Beauty Blender. I really really like the Beauty Blender and I totally understand why it’s the cult favorite sponge. But another one I really like is the Morphe Flawless Beauty Sponge. I think this sponge is just as good (and maybe even a little bit better) than the Beauty Blender and it’s much more reasonably priced – $20 for a BB and $6.99 for the Morphe sponge. If you’re in the market for testing something else out besides your BB, I would definitely recommend the Morphe one!

Setting Spray: The only setting spray I even touch is the Urban Decay All Nighter Setting Spray (also they definitely are changing the packaging!!!). This stuff is just the best and I don’t know if anything can beat it. Let me know if you have any recommendations though because I’m curious.

Skin Care: Even though by no means am I skin care expert, I wanted to mention a few things that I’ve been really loving this year. The first thing is the Exuviance Gentle Cleansing Creme. Someone at Ulta recommended this to me and I absolutely love it. It’s so so so gentle which is really nice when my skin is feeling extra sensitive, but it also really cleans my skin nicely. The next product I want to mention is from Tarte and it is their Rainforest of the Sea Drink of H20 Moisturizer. I originally just got a little sample of this but I really really love it so I repurchased. It’s such a nice moisturizer and I’m so happy I found it. The last thing I want to mention is something that’s mentioned a lot, and that is the Clinique Take the Day Off Cleansing Balm. I only have a sample size of this right now but I really love it. It’s gentle and never stings my eyes at all and I really recommend it.

And that’s it! I hope you guys enjoyed this post and have a very very happy new year and 2017! Please let me know in the comments down below some of your favorite products this year because I’m always on the hunt for more stuff.

I love you guys so much and I’ll talk to you soon!

Xoxo,
Rachel

One Comment Add yours

  1. thesimplebeautylife says:

    Some really great products, wish I could have tried more of these out! X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

