What’s in my travel makeup bag?

Hi everyone! Welcome back! Today I’m here to bring you guys a “what’s in my travel makeup bag?” Recently I’ve been doing a lot of traveling, shoutout to spring break, and I needed to decide what I absolutely wanted to travel with! These are products that are kind of like holy grails to me, but also just absolutely necessary for me on an everyday basis for makeup! Some of this stuff is newer to me and I’ll give little mini reviews on each product as we go! Let’s just jump right into it 🙂

I thought I’d go in the order of how I typically do my face just to make it a little bit easier to follow along and help the flow.

The first thing I’ll do is usually go in with a moisturizer – and the one I have currently been loving is the Josie Maran Argan Daily Moisturizer with SPF 47! It’s important to wear SPF everyday no matter what, but since I was in the Carribean I definitely didn’t skip out on this at all. I really like this because I find I have no problem just wearing it or wearing it under makeup, and I can tell that it really helped my skin when I was on vacation. The only downside to this is that it is a little bit thick, but I found my skin absorbed it pretty quickly. I’ve been wearing this pretty much everyday, especially if I’m not wearing any other SPF. Right after this I’ll usually go in with a primer to make sure my makeup lasts and to get rid of any issues that I’ve been having. A primer that I’ve really been liking recently is the Estee Lauder Matte Perfecting Primer. My mom had picked this up for me and I just recently started realizing how much I love it. It really does have a blurring effect on the skin and makes my skin ready for foundation and everything else that’ll go on top of it.

Next I like to go in with foundation – and there are actually 2 that have been on rotation for me recently. The first one I’ve been loving is the Makeup Forever Ultra HD Foundation in shade 117 or Y225. I picked this up a couple months ago and I just can’t stop using it. It has a really nice medium to full coverage and I find that it almost never looks cakey on me (unless I’m way drier than usual). Even though it has great coverage, I find that this looks kind of skin like on me also. I really like how my other makeup applies over it and I find it’s just a foundation I can always rely on. The second one is a more recent foundation that I picked up and that is the It Cosmetics Your Skin But Better CC Creme in shade “light” with SPF 50. Although I guess this isn’t really a foundation, it has such a nice amount of coverage that I definitely consider it one. Again, SPF is key when protecting your skin so this having SPF 50 is great. So far, I really like how this applies to my face. I need to try it out some more but it was a really nice foundation to wear on vacation, especially when looking for something lightweight. There are a couple drawbacks to this product in my opinion though. The first one is their shade selection – five shades which I find a little bit unacceptable. Even for me it was hard to choose between light and fair, and there are about a million more actual skin tone shades in the world that aren’t represented in this line. The second thing is that it does have a fragrance to it. Personally this doesn’t bother me, but if you’re considering getting this product then definitely keep that in mind.

Next up is concealer! As I’m sure everyone knows, the Tarte Shape Tape concealer is all the rage in the beauty community right now, and I have also fallen in love with it. There’s such nice and full coverage without making me look dry or cakey or anything like that. I really really like it. I originally had gotten the shade light before they released more shades, but then I also picked up light sand when released. Both of these shades work for me, light sand is closer to my skin tone so it’s good for spot concealing, while light is better for highlighting under my eyes and other places like that. If you haven’t tried this yet, I definitely would recommend it. I know people are sick of hearing about it but to me it’s 100% worth the hype.

For powder I have another cult favorite – the Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder. I really just recently picked this up, but for me this has lived up to the hype so far! It doesn’t really accentuate my dry patches, which is something that I’ve been having a huge problem with lately, and it does a beautiful job of setting my makeup.

After this step I like to move into the brows and the eyes usually. For brows, I have a whole bunch of products I’ve been switching between and trying out lately. I’ve been a huge fan of the Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Definer pretty much since it came out, but the one issue I always had with it was that after about a month or so of use it would totally break and be useless. I’ve kind of gotten fed up with this so I decided to see what kind of pencils the drugstore had to offer. The two that I picked up to try are the NYX Micro Brow Pencil in shade Brunette, and the L’Oreal Brow Stylist Definer in shade Dark Brunette. So far I really like both of these brow pencils and the only real difference for me is the shade. The shades of the NYX one were harder to match and I find that the color is so slightly off. They both have really tiny pencil tips and spoolies on the end which I really like. I really would recommend either one of these products depending on the color you’re looking for. The last two brow products I want to talk about (and yes I know this is a lot for just some brows) are two different brow gels with two different purposes. The first one is the Benefit Gimme Brow Volumizing Fiber Gel in shade 3. I got this product to help with the lack of volume in my brows and I really like it. The applicator it comes on is pretty good, but I also like to take an angled brow brush with it and use it that way to be a little more precise with the product. Finally, I’ve always loved the Anastasia Beverly Hills Clear Brow Gel. This stuff is the best clear brow gel I’ve ever used. It keeps my brows in my place and locked in all day without making it feel like they’re hard or have hairspray in them. I would highly highly recommend this product.

For eyeshadow, I only brought one palette with my on my vacation and that was the Morphe X Kathleen Lights eyeshadow palette. The link I provided is to amazon because this product was limited edition and is no longer being sold. The price on that link is not at all what I payed for it but since it’s limited edition they must have priced it up. Anyway I got this palette a while ago and I really love it. For me, this palette is totally different than Morphe’s 35O palette. I love the size of this palette and I really like the shades in here too. There are some great matte transition colors and also there are about 10 different looks I can think of doing with this palette alone, which is exactly why I brought it. There was enough versatility in there for me to have different eyeshadow looks no matter what I wanted, and my mom got some great looks out of it as well.

For eyeliner, I’ve recently been loving the Tarte Clay Pot Liner in shade black. This is some of my favorite eyeliner ever honestly. It’s great for me to use just lining my eyes or to create a wing. I find myself constantly reaching for this no matter what look I’m going for. The mascara I’ve been using a lot recently is the Too Faced Better Than Sex mascara. I really like this mascara and it’s really reliable to always make my lashes look nice. I wish I would’ve brought something with a smaller wand for my lower lash line, but I made this work nonetheless. It makes my lashes look great and I really enjoy it.

After I finish with the eyes I’ll move back into the face and onto the lips. To contour, I’ve really been liking the Wet n Wild Megaglo Contouring Palette in shade Dulce De Leche. This is a really nice color on me, but if I could I would make it just the slightest bit more cool toned. Either way, the quality of this product is great. The powder is easy to use and very blendable if you accidentally go in too hard at first. For bronzer I haven’t changed my ways and have been sticking with the Too Faced Milk Chocolate Soleil Bronzer. Aside from the fact this smells like chocolate, it’s really a great product. I don’t know if I’ll ever change brozners because I love this color on my skin tone and I find it so easy to work with.

For blush and highlight I’ve been sticking to two of my favorites. For blush I’ve been using the Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in shade Exposed. This has been my favorite blush for the longest time honestly. It’s so easy to apply and not too pigmented to the fact that I’m scared to use it, but it definitely shows up on my skin. For highlight, I was constantly using the Becca x Jaclyn Hill Champagne Pop as per usual. I just love this highlight and find it really flattering on my skin tone. I recently just picked up a new highlight palette though (can anyone guess what it is?) and I’ll be reviewing that as soon as I use it more!

And finally for lips I have two go-to products. The first is a liquid lipstick by Kylie Cosmetics from her valentine collection minis in shade “Dirty Peach.” I really really like this liquid lipstick and I find that it’s one of the most flattering colors on me. Whether or not you like her products is up to you, but I find that this one specifically is really nice. The second lip product I’ve been loving still is the Tarte LipSurgence Lip Gloss in shade Exposed. This is my go to lip product and I really just love it.

Then I’ll usually set with a setting spray and that’ll be it! This was definitely like the longest post ever, but I hope it helps give you guys some insight into what I’ve been using and traveling with lately. Let me know what you guys think in the comments below, and what products you’ve been loving!

Thank you guys so much for reading, and I’ll talk to you soon!

Xoxo,
Rach

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

